New Toy – Canon 70-200 2.8L

Yesterday my parents returned from their three week sojourn through Asia. I rather missed them this time – usually the empty house is a welcome proposition, but after house sitting a place in Balmain for most of January & February I needed some company! I especially missed the casual advice from Dad – I’ve been making some big (& tough!) decisions lately and like bouncing my ideas off him. He is the rational voice which is missing from my inner monologue. But we’ll chalk it down as another lesson in independence.

They brought me home a belated 21st present in the form of a Canon 70-200 2.8L lens. Couldn’t wipe the smile off my face when I de-boxed my first ‘professional’ L glass.

Initial impressions are great – amazing build quality, images are sharp, autofocus is quick… really looking forward to testing it out at the track soon. I immediately whacked a Speedhunters sticker that Dale got me on the Lens hood – for e-reps yo. Might even trick people into thinking I’m a ‘hunter myself ;).

Image

They also brought back this bag – it’s huge and is perfect for my kit at it’s current size.

Image

Fits the 70-200 easily, which is handy.

Speaking of my digital kit, it currently sits at:

  • Canon Rebel T1i body
  • Canon 50mm 1.4
  • Canon 10-22 3.5-4.5
  • Canon 70-200 2.8L
  • Canon Speedlite 403ex ii

Yep, bit of a Canon fanboy!

Leave a comment