Some updates & Porsche v BMW day

A few (good) updates!

I ordered Advan A048s from Tire Rack, in 225/50/15 which are now fitted to my stock 15×7’s. This wheel and tyre combo represents 26kg less unsprung weight!! They aren’t the prettiest things but are light and strong. Got some mad fender gap now. Hellafunctional.

Also got a new exhaust put in from extractors back. Saved some weight, it’s almost straight through so flows a bit better, and now I can actually hear my engine over those bloody Hondas at Circuit Club. 😆

Also went out to the Porsche v BMW day. This is my 2nd time at EC and represents almost a year of being a track fiend. The car ran great and took down many supposedly faster cars. Unfortunately with over 100 cars attending and a rather “relaxed” attitude to getting cars out on track I didn’t really get to put together a decent lap. I managed a 2:00:6xx which I was happy with & apparently was a new PC class record.

Here is a vid of the last session of the day. I do a 2 min lap then am on a real blinder until I come off at the hairpin from shitty braking. Pay attention to the last 30 seconds or so… you get a good idea of what an E36 looks like after a disagreement with gravity and a wall at 150km/h. Thankfully the driver survived with only a shattered sternum. The session & day ended after this.

With the semis and smaller wheel/tyre combo the car feels like a sharpened tool. So responsive and communicative. The slight understeer with the old setup made the car forgiving but ultimately slower.

I have a Sparco to go in before the next event & want to replace the stock pads with something more track suitable! After that, maybe an LSD and I will be happy with the car 😀 Just have to work on my driving! Loving this car more and more.

Leave a comment